Cat Behavior · cat toys · Foster · Human & Cat · Multi-cat Household · Uncategorized

Foster Kittens : Playpen

I am currently fostering three kittens from a local rescue group here in Denver, CO. I have fostered in the past before and have always kept them in their own room, separate from the resident cats. In the past, the kittens would have full utilization of the room and that sometimes proved to be a disaster. I’ve had some kittens rip paint from the walls, others spew diarrhea all over the floors and litter stones everywhere! I decided that I would no longer allow them to have full run of the spare bedroom and keep them confined in a 3-story kitty condo and their own playpen. Not only would it keep the messes in one area, but it would also be safer for them. Kittens are notorious for getting into anything and everything!

The playpen is a mesh tent that I purchased for my cats several years ago when I wanted to have them spend time outdoors. I’ve used it several times and it works great and really easy to set-up and store away. It’s basically like a camping tent, but for kitties! I set-up the tent in the kitten room and laid down a blanket so that their nails wouldn’t catch on the mesh. I put several noisy toys and balls in there to keep them occupied. I placed the kittens into the playpen and it was a huge hit! Several of them used the restroom on the blanket the first two days, but later realized that it was not a litter box. The playpen allows them to run, play and stretch their legs and keeps them safely in one area. Here are a few pictures of their adventures:

Tabby kitten in playpen
Foster Kittens: Playpen
Foster kittens playpen
Foster Kittens: Playpen

 

Want to buy one of your own? They are pretty affordable and easy to clean if there are any kitten messes. Amazon sells it for $39.99 and it’s free shipping! Click here to get the kitty playpen.

 

Leave a Reply

