Human & Cat

Helping Cats in Need

Donating money and resources to local animal rescue groups is a wonderful thing. Whether it’s monetary, supplies, or volunteering your time, helping cats in need is always something I think about.

Several years ago, at the end of the year, I went on a shopping spree at a local Walmart and purchased large bags of cat food, boxes of litter, and toys. I pulled up to the SPCA and had a cart rolled in, filled to the brim full of supplies.

The following year, after Christmas, I was at Petco/Petsmart (I always get the two confused!) I purchased a slew of discounted holiday-themed cat toys. I donated all of them personally to cats at the shelter and the local rescue group I volunteered for at the time.

This past year, I fostered a pair of kittens from a local shelter and paid for their vetting, food and supplies (most shelters give these things to you for free as part of the foster program, I decided to pay out of my pocket).

All of these different scenarios have two things in common:

  • They help kitties in need; and
  • They are tax-deductible.

It’s the end of the year and if you haven’t already donated to your favorite charity or have a few extra dollars to spare, please donate to the cats/kittens in this world that need our help.

Comment below and tell me what good things you have done for the kitties this year!

 

Cheers,

Nicole @ Just Cats

Leave a Reply

